What's New In Lake George NY: Fun Events, News & More!

Warrensburg Celebrates Bicentennial with Museum Exhibit

Tuesday, February 12, 2013 marked Warrensburg’s 200th anniversary. Despite growth and changes over the years, Warrensburg, NY has succeeded in holding on to its small town warmth and charm, evident in the various celebrations planned throughout the year for its bicentennial, with the largest scheduled for the Fourth of July. Warrensburg, NY became a town on February 12, 1813, when the town of Thurman was separated (later reclaimed) into Warrensburg and Athol, NY. The Hudson River served as the boundary for the two towns. Warrensburg was an excellent location for a town at the time due to the number of sawmills and gristmills, making it a town people commuted to for jobs before those jobs moved to the South.

On Sunday, February 17th, Warrensburg’s Museum of Local History celebrated with an open house, exhibiting artifacts, photos, clothing, tools, school items and documents from the past 200 years. The museum plans to extend the exhibit through October of 2013. The exhibit is comprised of nine categories, spanning from before the town was founded, through its “golden age” in late 1800’s and early 1900’s, up to 2013. Residents have graciously donated thousands of artifacts and photographs pertaining to Warrensburg’s unique history. The Warrensburg Historical Society and the Town of Warrensburg have worked together to make the museum a success.

Museum Director Steve Parisi, along with his wife, Sandi Parisi, the Warrensburg town historian, is currently putting together a book chronicling Warrensburg’s long history, which will be out in July or August of 2013.

Interested in volunteering at the museum? Call Steve Parisi, Museum Director, at 518-623-2928.